clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four D.C. area projects win 2016 Brick in Architecture Awards

From Alexandria to Cabin John, see which local projects excelled

At this year’s Brick in Architecture Awards, there were 32 winners from 17 U.S. states and Canada. Four of these winners stemmed from the D.C. area.

The purpose of the award is to celebrate projects that "demonstrate the best of brick’s aesthetic flexibility," according to Brick Industry Association President and CEO Ray Leonhard.

The winners, who were judged by a jury of peers, had to submit in one of seven categories: Commercial, Educational (Higher Education), Educational (K-12), Healthcare, Municipal/Government, Residential (Multifamily) and Residential (Single Family).

In D.C. proper, Eric Colbert & AssociatesAtlantic Plumbing won the Silver Award and Maurice Walters Architect’s Cathedral Commons won the Bronze Award, both in the Residential (Multifamily) category.

In Alexandria, Virginia, VMDO Architects’ Jefferson-Houston PreK-8 School won the Silver Award in the Educational (K-12) category.

Lastly, in Cabin John, Maryland, Opal LLC’s Morton Street Mews won the Bronze Award in the Residential (Multifamily) category.

For this year’s Best in Class winners, they included Beck Architecture’s Old Parkland Campus in Dallas, Texas; Overland Partners’ Prairie View A&M Agriculture and Business in Prairie View, Texas; John Ciardullo Associates’ Intermediate School 230Q Annex in Queens, New York; Page Southerland Page’s Baylor Surgical Hospital at Fort Worth in Fort Worth, Texas; Ohlhausen DuBois Architects’ Millwood Fire Station in Millwood, New York; GF55 Partners’ 46-09 Eleventh Street in Long Island City, New York; and Charles Hilton Architects’ New Georgian Revival home in Greenwich, Connecticutt.

The jury featured Steve Berg, BWBR; Fiske Crowell, Sasaki Associates; Kristin Hawkins, Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects; David Meleca, David B. Meleca Architects, LLC; Clint Rigsby, Seamon Whiteside and Fernando Villa, Magnusson Architecture and Planning, PC.

For a complete list of the winners, go here.