clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Revisiting the AIA Gold Medal Winners, Now on Show in D.C.

Almost every year, the American Institute of Architects (AIA) bestows their highest accolade, the Gold Medal, to architects whose works are regarded as having a long-lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture. Starting June 25, the Architects Foundation will feature seven of these Gold Medal winners at the Octagon Museum. Teresa Martinez, manager of the Octagon Museum, told Curbed that the "AIA Gold Medal Exhibit" is meant to not only introduce both well- and lesser-known architects to the public, it is also meant to give a basic introduction to the award, itself. "It [the AIA Gold Award] is fairly well-known in architecture circles, but not very well-known with the general public," she said. The exhibition will explain what the award is, how it's awarded, why it's awarded, and who it has been awarded to. The seven architects featured in the exhibit include Paul Philippe Cret, Frank Lloyd Wright, Walter Gropius, Ieoh Ming Pei, Frank Gehry, Julia Morgan, and this year's gold medallist Moshe Safdie. The exhibition will continue through October 31. Admission is free and open to the public on Thursdays through Saturdays from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

· The AIA Gold Medal Exhibit [The Architects Foundation]
· Gold Medal Award Recipients [The American Institute of Architects]
· The Octagon Museum [The Architects Foundation]

The Octagon House

1799 New York Avenue NW, Washington, DC 202 638 3221